Google is finally making Shared Libraries available for all users starting today. Google Photos Shared Libraries was announced at the Google I/O 2017 in May of 2017, and has been everyone’s highly anticipated feature since.
Google Photos Shared Libraries will be available across all users starting today on iOS, Android and the web.
In addition to this, Google Photos is announcing a new feature called Suggested Sharing, that creatively notifies users to share photos and videos with people they care. Google Photos is implemented machine learning techniques here to automatically alert users to share suggested photos and videos with suggested friends on Google Photos.
Google Photos Shared Libraries
On the mobile app, click the menu bar at the top left to see a new menu called Share your library. You can use this button to share the whole lot of your Google Photos data with a friend on Google Photos.
[caption id=“attachment_2302” align=“alignnone” width=“1200”] Image: Google[/caption]
You can also choose to share certain photos and videos, or albums, with your friends. Once you initate a share request, you will have to wait for that person to accept your request. Once done, all your photos and videos on Google Photos will automatically be shared with them. All future photos and videos will be shared too.
That person can choose to save all of your Google Photos data or only certain part of it. Once saved, these data will be used across by the Google Photos ecosystem on her account to create creative animation, make it searchable and do more.
New Suggested Sharing on Google Photos
Starting today, you will find a new section called Sharing at the bottom right of the Google Photos Android or iOS app. Click that to quickly share certain photos with your friends on Google Photos.
[caption id=“attachment_2303” align=“alignnone” width=“1200”] Image: Google[/caption]
As always, you can share your Google Photos data even with those not on Google Photos using mobile number or email.
Once shared, all future uploads will be shared with that person too. Google Photos will constantly apply machine learning techniques to suggest photos to share, and people to share, based on your presence with them during the time of taking photos.