Facebook announced the launch of a new feature called Snooze, that allows users to mute posts from accounts, Facebook Pages and Facebook Groups for 30 days. This feature is similar to how muting on Twitter.com or Twitter apps works.
When you snooze a certain person, Page or Group on Facebook, you will no longer see their posts on your Facebook News Feed for 30 days. The person, Page or Group you snooze will not be informed about your action. Snoozing doesn’t unfriend, remove your Like from the Page or remove you from that Group’s membership either. All Snooze does is, hide their posts from your News Feed.
Snoozing is rather easy and can be done using the top-right drop-down menu available on posts from people you want to snooze. It’s also possible to Snooze by visiting their profiles and clicking on the Snooze button at the top. Once the 30 days period ends, the Snooze action will ask for your action and you can choose to continue Snooze for a longer time or disable Snooze.
Seeing too many photos of your uncle’s new cat? Is your friend tempting you with endless photos of ramen on her Japan trip? It turns out, you’re not alone. We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it. With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time.
There is no option to snooze certain hashtags at this time. This is certainly something I would like to see being available in the future though.
The new Snooze feature is rolling out to all Facebook users as we speak and should be available for you in the coming days.